
Workers’ Compensation Information 
The Workers’ Compensation Act of 1926 promotes a no-fault insurance system that requires 
Arizona employers to provide coverage for the costs of medical treatment and lost wages for 
injuries suffered on the job.  Coverage is provided at no cost to the employee.  The State of 
Arizona provides coverage to state employees and some volunteers through self-insurance 
and processes claims according to the laws governing all employers and rules and 
regulations established by the Industrial Commission of Arizona. 
 
What should I do if I am injured on the job? 
 

• If the injury is life-threatening, seek emergency help immediately by calling 911.  
Notify medical providers that this is a work-related injury. 

 
• If the injury is not life-threatening, seek help and/or first aid and notify your 

supervisor immediately.  Your supervisor should complete a Supervisor’s Report of 
Injury and follow any other procedures that may be established by your agency. 

 
• Call 602.542.WORK or 1.800.837.8583 within 48 hours to report the injury to Risk 

Management. 
 
The claim will be assigned to a workers’ compensation adjuster to determine compensability 
and then process payment for medical expenses and any compensation due.  If you have 
not lost time from work in excess of seven days, you may not be personally contacted by 
your adjuster.  You will receive a Notice of Claim Status when your claim is accepted, when 
you have been discharged by your provider, or if your claim is denied. 
 
If your physician feels you are unable to work, and you are off for eight or more calendar 
days, you may be entitled to payment for lost wages.  Payments are based on 66-2/3% of 
your actual average monthly wage, subject to a cap of $2,400 per month.  There are no 
deductions for state or federal taxes, Social Security, union or retirement contributions. 
Your agency may be able to provide you with temporary modified duty assignments in 
conjunction with any restrictions recommended by your medical provider.   
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